Mar 29 2009 @averagejoesblog
Jenson Button wins the Australian GP

Jenson Button wins the Australian GP

Jenson Button has triumphed in the exciting and tense opening round of the 2009 Formula One World Championship. He lead from start to finish and did not put a foot wrong. Rubens Barrichello came in second despite a poor start and a few knocks that took him down the field. Lewis Hamilton finished third (he started 18th) after Trulli was given a 25 second penalty for overtaking Hamilton under the safety car. Vettel chased Button most of the way until he came to blows with Kubica on the fourth from last lap. Kubica was on the harder tire and was catching Vettel at quite a rate. Had they not collided, Kubica would most certainly come second if not first due to his pace on the tire of choice. Both the Ferrari’s retired and Nakajima & Piquet both failed to keep the car on the tarmac.

We couldn’t have asked for a more exciting start to the season and Brawn GP head to Malaysia full of confidence. They are most certainly the title favorites at the moment and with 18 points in the bag already, they are going to be tough to catch.

Check Dave T out on



Tickled your fancy?



Ouch! There was a server error.
Retry »

Sending message...

Latest Posts