The 87 nominees for the 2018 Beazley Designs of the Year awards have just been unveiled and, as usual, the list features anything and everything from all walks of life, including the Nigerian World Cup football kit, Rihanna’s Fenty beauty range and the LEGO House in Denmark.

The 2018 Beazley 'Designs of the Year' Shortlist Has Been Revealed

Announced by London’s Design Museum to coincide with the start of the London Design Festival, the Beazley Designs of the Year awards spotlights the products, concepts and designers who have had the biggest global impact over the past year. The shortlist covers six categories: Architecture, Digital, Fashion, Product, Graphics and Transport.

Chosen by practitioners, academics and curators, winners for each category will be announced later this year, as well as an overall winner. Previous winners of the grand prize include Edward Barber and Jay Osgerby for the London 2012 Olympic Torch and Shephard Fairey for his iconic Barack Obama ‘Hope’ poster.


This year’s shortlist is characterised by socially and environmentally responsible design, such as a water bottle made from responsibly sourced paper with a sugarcane lid, set up by Jaden Smith. The list also features designs aimed at fixing medical problems, such as SurgiBox, an operating theatre that fits in a backpack.

There are also plenty of fashion and beauty designs in this year’s list with Rihanna’s Fenty skincare brand and Lacoste’s ‘Save Our Species’ collection also recognised. E Carter’s costume designs for the film Black Panther also got a mention, while Nike’s Nigeria World Cup kit – inspired by the team’s 1994 World Cup efforts – is also a front runner in the Fashion category.


In the Transport category, two bikes – one electric and one for the bike-sharing platform Mobike – are leading the nominations, alongside the Virgin Hyperloop One, which aims to take passengers between locations at speeds of up to 670 miles an hour in a low-pressure tube.


One of the most competitive categories is the Architecture category, which features the likes of micro-library in Indonesia built with recycled ice-cream buckets and the LEGO House by BIG; an activity centre in Denmark set up for playing and learning with LEGO.

The winners for the 2018 Beazley Designs of the Year will be announced on 15th November, with an overall winner taking home the title of ‘Design of the Year’. You can see all the nominees over at the London Design Museum until 6th January 2019. Find out more over at the Design Museum Website.




Tickled your fancy?



Ouch! There was a server error.
Retry »

Sending message...

Latest Posts