The new Tate in St Ives, Bloomberg’s new headquarters and a nursery in Cambridge are all on the shortlist for this year’s Stirling Prize. Yes, the Royal Institute of British Architects has announced six finalists competing for the annual prize to become the ‘best new building in Britain.’

The RIBA Stirling Prize 2018 Shortlist for the ‘Best Building in the UK’ Has Been Announced

Each year the RIBA Stirling Prize is judged against a range of criteria, including design vision; innovation and originality; capacity to stimulate, engage and delight occupants and visitors; accessibility and sustainability; how fit the building is for its purpose and the level of client satisfaction.

The shortlisted projects for the 2018 award are: Bloomberg London Headquarters by Foster + Partners, Bushey Cemetery by Waugh Thistleton Architects, Chadwick Hall by Henley Halebrown, Tate St Ives by Jamie Fobert Architects with Evans & Shalev, Storey’s Field Community Centre and Nursery by MUMA, and the Sultan Nazrin Shah Centre by Niall McLaughlin Architects.


“Each of the projects on this year’s shortlist shows the power and payback of investing in quality architecture, illustrating perfectly how well-designed buildings are worth every penny and can exceed the expectations of the community they serve,” said RIBA president Ben Derbyshire.

Perhaps the most unusual building on the shortlist is Waugh Thistleton Architects’ cemetery in Hertfordshire, which is constructed with rammed earth walls and accents of oak wood and rusted steel; Meanwhile, Foster + Partners’ bronze and stone Bloomberg London HQ is probably the most high-profile building on the shortlist.


Both Oxford and Cambridge University have a project on the shortlist, with a new ‘floating’ auditorium by Niall McLaughlin Architects in Oxford and the MUMA-designed community centre in Cambridge.


In Cornwall, Jamie Fobert’s extension to the Tate St Ives has been shortlisted a year after the Tate Modern’s Herzog & de Meuron extension didn’t make the cut, while the final building on the list is Henley Halebrown’s three new accommodation blocks at Roehampton University, which surround the Grade II-listed Georgian Downshire House

The shortlist was drawn from the 49 winners of the RIBA National Awards 2018 and the winner of the 2018 Sterling Prize will be announced on 10th October 2018 at the Roundhouse in Camden. Find out more about all the shortlisted buildings over at the RIBA Website.


Also take a look at the RIBA House of the Year 2017. Designed by James Macdonald Wright and Niall Maxwell, Caring Wood re-imagines the traditional English country house.



Tickled your fancy?



Ouch! There was a server error.
Retry »

Sending message...

Latest Posts