Lotus to rejoin F1 in 2010 – Lotus F1

Lotus will rejoin F1 next season, and compete in their first Grand Prix since 1994. They will join three other new teams; Campos Grand Prix, Manor and US F1.

The FIA now has a full quota of 14 teams (28 cars) for the 2010 season after increasing the size of the grid by choice. The FIA chose Team Lotus ahead of Epsilon Euskadi for the final place.

The original Team Lotus won seven constructors titles and six drivers’ championships during the 60’s and 70’s including titles for Graham Hill and Jim Clarke. The new team is far from Norfolk though, as it is a partnership between the Malaysian Government and Proton. The team will be headed up by team principal Tony Fernandes, the founder of the Tune Group which owns Air Asia Airline.

Mike Gascoyne will become the teams technical director after stints with Jordan, Renault, Toyota, and most recently Force India. And although there were reports of the team being based at the Malaysia’s Sepang International circuit the team will actually be based in Norfolk and have already chosen a factory location, indeed the same factory originally used by the Toyota Formula One team.